Thermie is Here!!!!

If you were a reader of my old blog, you may remember that earlier this year I set myself a challenge to save up for a Thermomix.

 

Since then I have scrimped and saved from the grocery budget (by using up what we have on hand and planning cheaper meals / less wastage etc), added my birthday money, some spare change, some unallocated interest money from our savings account.

It was surprising how quickly the savings started to mount.

Then I started my job (after waiting a full school term) and thought I’d have some extra cash to put toward my total.  Of course, most of my part-time wage got gobbled up by kids stuff so it took a few pay cycles before I realised that instead of waiting to have a big amount left-over, I needed to allocate something each pay toward my thermomix.

In October, the Thermomix customer deal included a free Thermomix Bread Mat (which I don’t think you can actually buy).  Farmboy told me he’d put in the rest of the total as a baby gift for me so I could get it and have time to learn how to use it before bubs arrived.

So, on Monday, my Thermomix consultant drove up with my Thermomix and did a delivery demonstration.  I had a few friends around to show them the Thermomix.  We ate good food and had some laughs.  And as a thankyou, I got the Thermoserver for free (this is a dish that keeps food hot or cold and again, is only available as a gift – can’t be purchased).

The demonstrator made sorbet, dip, coleslaw, bread, risotto and custard in the Thermomix while she was here.

When my guests had gone, we made a batch of the famous Thermomix vegie stock so she could show me how to use the machine.

I think this was my favourite part about the Thermomix.  The personal service.  Yes, you do pay for it in the cost of the machine BUT I have another appliance in my cupboard that I ordered with flybuys reward points and have used once because I haven’t figured out how to properly use it yet. Being shown how to use something is so much easier than trying to nut it out from a poorly translated instruction book.

With an investment like the Thermomix, you certainly want to get the full usage from it!

The demonstrator left just after 5pm.  I had to go out at 7.30pm.  In that time I made chocolate cake, bread rolls, cooked some chicken and added to leftover risotto, ate tea, made custard which we had with the chocolate cake and had a half an hour lie down.

Think Thermie might have been ready for a lie down too after all that hard work!!!  🙂

The kids are VERY excited and planning what they’re going to make in it.  They’ve been pouring through the Everyday Cookbook that came with it planning what they want to try.

Today I’m going to make some lemon meringue pies and who knows what else.

That’s if I get off the computer and make a start! 😉

3 thoughts on “Thermie is Here!!!!

Leave a Reply

